New and improved! Selfish Sarah!

I have a hard time thinking about myself first. Sure, that’s usually a good quality in a person but I think it can sometimes be a weakness to some extent. I know I would consider it one of my personal weaknesses anyway.

I know, I know… resolutions are supposed to be made on the first or whatever, but screw it. January 4th I’m adding a resolution, sue me. In 2014 I have want to be more selfish.

I have to stop pouring myself into these crazy long work days. I need to be more selfish and tell work it can wait. Plain and simple.

I have to be more selfish and make sure to turn my phone off and spend good quality time with my husband.

I have to be more selfish and stand up for myself when I can see I’m clearly getting the short end of the stick, regardless of what people think about me when it’s all said and done.

I have to be more selfish with my time. If I want time to myself to do school stuff, play my guitar, or even binge watch some ridiculously girly reality show, I should take it. Saying yes to everything and everyone doesn’t leave much time for me.

I have to be more selfish and stop basing my self worth on what others may or may not think. I’m awesome, I know it, that’s the only opinion I should base my self perception on.

There’s areas in our every day lives where we could all be more selfless. Maybe I could have bought the person in line behind me at Starbucks a cup of coffee today, or given up some of my clothes to the homeless. I, by no means, am the true definition of selfless. I am however, tired of putting myself last and making others happy regardless of the outcome for myself.

I have a feeling that the new and improved selfish Sarah may actually come out of this a little better person. “They” always say (who is “they”?) that you can’t truly love another until you love yourself. I love myself, but some days I don’t like myself too much. Maybe by being a little more selfish ill like myself a little more and improve the relationship with those around me.

Maybe it’s part of this whole finding myself journey I’m apparently on, maybe im just in a mood. Who knows?

What I do know is this; This year I’m going to be strong, im going to be happy, I’m going to love myself, and I’m going to be a little more selfish.

One thought on “New and improved! Selfish Sarah!

  1. Pingback: 10 Strategies To Maintain Your Sanity in a Relationship | DIE TRYING

Got something to say? Sound off here!

